Australia Day Awards 2024

Published on 26 January 2024


Upper Hunter Shire Council is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2024 Australia Day Awards, celebrating outstanding community contributions and achievements.

Upper Hunter Shire

Citizen of the year

Jim Callinan, with his 41 years dedicated to broadcasting, has not only been a familiar voice but also a staunch supporter of local charities and a promoter of Scone's rich identity. His involvement in various events and his unwavering support for causes like the Westpac Rescue Helicopter Service exemplify the kind of community spirit that makes the Upper Hunter Shire a remarkable place to live.

Young Citizen of the Year (Under 25)

Charlie Milton, a young leader who has shone both on the sports field and within the school community, has brought pride to Scone High School. Her achievements in rugby and her subsequent recognition at sports academies speak volumes of her dedication and talent. As the elected School Captain for 2024, Charlie represents the best of our young people – their integrity, tenacity, and potential to lead.


Citizen of the Year

Brian Harshman

Young Citizen of the Year

Charlie Milton

Local Champion

Tamara Donnelly


Citizen of the Year

Sharee Witney

Young Citizen of the Year

Roy Lawler

Local Champion

Can Assist

Sustainability in Business

Regional Australia Bank

Sporting Achievement Award

Lauren Redgate

Community Spirit Award

James Constable


Citizen of the Year

Gilliane Avard-Ng

Young Citizen of the Year

Ayann Hussain

Local Champion

Warren Bramley

Sporting Team of the Year

Murrurundi Public School Relay Team


Hunter McLoughlin Citizen of the Year

Jim Callinan

Young Citizen of the Year

Nicholas Wilson

Young Citizen of the Year

Renzy Perez

Local Champion

Margaret Wicks

Outstanding Work in Sustainability

Shane Roberts

School Achievement Awards

Jack Mobberley, Merriwa Central School
Kirra Harris, St Joseph's High School
Sophie Gillet, Scone Grammar School
Ziggy Minter, Scone Grammar School

Creative Arts Excellence Awards

Jessica Bogaard, Scone High School
Josie Porter, Merriwa Central School
Michael Dunley, Scone Grammar School